Pillars of Islam

March 28, 2017

Hajj – Fifth Pillar of Islam

The Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam, a mandatory duty for Muslims that must be carried out at least once in their lifetime.  The pilgrimage […]
March 28, 2017

Sawm or Fasting – Fourth Pillar of Islam

Fasting in Islam, known as Sawm is abstaining from eating and drinking and other prohibited in the month of Ramadan the ninth month of the Islamic […]
March 28, 2017

Zakat – Third Pillar of Islam

Zakat is the financial obligation upon Muslims.  An important principle of Islam is that everything belongs to God and that wealth is therefore held by human […]
March 28, 2017

Salah -The Prayer -Second Pillar of Islam

Salah or Namaz is the name for the obligatory (ritual)prayers that are performed five times a day.  As there are no hierarchical authority in Islam and […]
March 28, 2017

Profession of Faith – Shahada – First Pillar of Islam

لَا إِلٰهَ إِلَّا الله مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ الله There is no god but Allah. Muhammad is the messenger of Allah. Muslims believe in the One, Unique, Uncomparable, […]
March 18, 2017

Five Pillars of Islam

The five pillars of Islam (أركان الإسلام) are are five basic acts in Islam considered to be mandatory by Muslims and are the foundation of Islam.  […]